top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Orlovich

Different Languages

Marriage is tough! Don’t let anyone convince you otherwise. Whether you have been married 6 months or 60 years, it is not an easy thing. You didn’t pick the wrong person or the wrong time, but you may be speaking different languages. One of my favorite marital tools has been “The Five Love Languages” by Gary Chapman. He talks about the different ways that people feel loved and communicate love. Unless we know what our spouse’s love language is, we may not clearly be communicating what they desperately need to hear.

The types are as follows: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. When my husband and I figured out what our love language was, it helped each of us express love to the other person. It wasn’t difficult, just different. This simple technique can be a marriage saver.

To discover your love language, you can go to and take the Love Language Quiz.

Chapman, Gary. (2004). “The five love languages.” Chicago: Northfield Publishing.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page